Join IRMA, and the Global Campaign for Microbicides
for an International Teleconference

Thursday, June 11, 2009

Microbicides: The herstory of a movement

If you ever wanted to know how the microbicides movement got started from two of the women who were there from the beginning, this is the teleconference for you.

•How did microbicides get their name?

•What early role did the women’s movement play in advocating for female-initiated HIV prevention methods?

•How did rectal microbicides advocacy get started in the mid-1990s?

•How did advocates successfully get funding for microbicide research in Europe and North America?

•What lessons can we learn from early microbicide advocacy campaigns?

Join us for an important discussion on the story before the headlines and learn the context of this incredible movement that we’re all a part of today. Because if you don’t know the past, it’s hard to understand the present, let alone advocate for the future!

Lori Heise, founding Director of the Global Campaign for Microbicides, will speak about her experience over the past 15 years advocating for microbicides, early watershed moments and the field that’s emerged worldwide.

Anna Forbes, Deputy Directory of the Global Campaign for Microbicides, will present on the role of civil society in Europe and North America over the past decade to build awareness and help raise millions to dramatically increase funding for microbicide research. She will also discuss early efforts to get gay men and MSM involved in rectal microbicide advocacy that helped plant the seeds for what is IRMA today.

Times: Thursday, June 11, 2009

Sydney – 12:00am Friday, June 12 (sorry Sydney!)
Kuala Lampur – 10:00pm
Delhi – 7:30pm
Cape Town – 4:00pm
Lagos / London – 3:00pm
Washington DC / NYC – 10:00am
Chicago / Lima – 9:00am
Seattle – 7:00am

Please RSVP here. Everyone who RSVPs will receive toll-free dial-in information.